My 3rd-4th time receiving an email saying i signed up for some web cams which I know i didn’t. I need more of an understanding what an IP address and how can you tell whether they’re from the same person.
This is the email header I received
X-Apparently-To: moe_vang@yahoo.com via 67.195.8.137; Fri, 05 Feb 2010 05:05:11 -0800
Return-Path: <confirm-return-moe_vang=yahoo.com@returns.groups.yahoo.com>
X-YMailISG: 1gqRxS8WLDvbsdm18RzPS_cuRlloyxpPRIbiyuP5ahozVfq1sNNKMOVCJEO2eUbm6xNJDU0ftUhtYidJAIWaCBhl80UylN9n5wHLOZcWCkmKddFWvdQGpXTZGDwitK1f9w2Adj5i9ISqi0ItJRL16do8k9OoxMy0ZT.YsJQEJ7S0aRhWy_9BMHHsp1YDeqOt7_6TVMqYp_cBNRw48ZMLENbY_sc9X6OFrEYuSLjlYM_CFZXD5McJKfx7Z6_SR2o8K998p41l5BuUo7FqU59fLlkyD0pglP4Edo0qCYCDbctYih_Ywdxfvp3AuNn9t4OkdQ1sEBVjHIY-
X-Originating-IP: [66.163.168.152]
Authentication-Results: mta1021.mail.mud.yahoo.com from=yahoogroups.com; domainkeys=pass (ok)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (HELO n38b.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com) (66.163.168.152) by mta1021.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 05 Feb 2010 05:05:11 -0800
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=yahoogroups.com; s=lima; t=1265375110; bh=krQ8r1lEfTN/oAnTtoRa8yRzRFFzoQHi33K1juOm1DY=; h=Received:Received:Date:Message-ID:X-Yahoo-Newman-Property:From:Reply-To:To:Subject:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding; b=l+vLP8NaEEM36ErKptDNNT1rjbXunSN6Ficgro+Bv9ZuvsGAoobXPOr27HWmlKXJ9bzoVQZHgYogEQxQQ8ZY/KthD4At3ijZ/8KYOhuNgHYPEJI3zhOpt9coEEdzpKeC
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=lima; d=yahoogroups.com; b=jN5tTJzJM3Jjkv/nFnJzjabLHVF41iwNkzs2jrwhYHmT8rv+G1ZfdJzA1Df/PX6D7TMtOO5YpnwXkyKJXr+KTYOlCUbgGfnFjF48+LzpKylpquLzsdosQbOmTKG7kxLq;
Received: from [69.147.65.147] by n38.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Feb 2010 13:05:10 -0000
Received: from [98.137.34.73] by t10.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Feb 2010 13:05:10 -0000
Date: 5 Feb 2010 13:05:10 -0000
Message-ID: <1265375110.303.11104.w7@yahoogroups.com>
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: groups-unconfirmed
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified
Yahoo! Groups <confirm-s2-gxkob0gebcq4l30guazyft0idzx1chu4-moe_vang=yahoo.com@yahoogroups.com>
Add sender to Contacts
Reply-To: confirm-s2-gxkob0gebcq4l30guazyft0idzx1chu4-moe_vang=yahoo.com@yahoogroups.com
To: moe_vang@yahoo.com
Subject: Please confirm your request to join MyHotWebcamClub02
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Length: 836
From that, I’m somewhat suspecting someone who manual signs me up for crap like web cams and some of her IP address came from the same place which in example…..
68.180.197.159 UNITED STATESCALIFORNIASUNNYVALE37.3779
-122.02794089-08:00
Net SpeedISPDomain
DSLYAHOO! INCYAHOO.COM
IDD CodeArea CodeWeather Station
1408/650(USCA1116) SUNNYVALE
If anyone can help me, PLEASE, do. Thanks so much guys! I’m just really getting tired one after another blocking the emails and still receiving them.
Annorax–> Thanks for the suggestion but unfortunately, I’ve tried that already and I’m still receiving the same stuff. Like I said I’m suspecting someone but don’t want to accuse so I need all the help I can do find out who it is and if it’s the right person I have in mind, probably take legal actions for harrassment or something.
You already found out all the information you can really find out from someones IP address. If they are not using a STATIC IP provided to them by their internet service provider, then the perp is able to change his/her IP address whenever. You can, however, report the IP to their internet service provider and have them block all interactions with your IP.